News Flash


Posted on: October 2, 2020

2020 Teacher of the Year

Book and apple in school

The Coconino County School Superintendent’s Office announces the 2020 Teacher of the Year, the 2020 Teacher of the Year Ambassadors for Excellence, the 2020 Rookie Teacher of the Year and the 2020 Rookie Teacher of the Year Ambassadors for Excellence.

Teacher of the Year is the countywide event created to celebrate, honor and recognize full-time charter, private and public-school certified teachers from pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade. This year a total of 14 certified teachers were nominated. Teachers completed and submitted a detailed essay application along with three letters of support to be in the running for the Teacher of the Year title. The Teacher of the Year, the Rookie Teacher of the Year and the Ambassadors for Excellence (runners up) are usually recognized and announced at the annual awards event but due to COVID-19, we were not able to have the event this year. Each of the finalists will receive cash prizes, automatic nomination for the Arizona Teacher of the Year Award and various other prizes. The Teacher of the Year also wins a one-year leased Toyota vehicle from Findlay Toyota dealership.  The entire celebration is made possible through our sponsors: Findlay Toyota, APS, Blue Cross,  Coconino Association for Vocations, Industry and Technology, Northern Arizona University, Northern Arizona University Foundation, Coconino Federal Credit Union, Coconino Community College, Greater Flagstaff Chamber of Commerce, Northern AZ Healthcare Foundation, Kinney Construction,  Northern Arizona Regional Behavioral Health Authority Institute, North Country Healthcare, Wells Fargo, Theatrikos Theatre Co., Bearizona, Starlite Lanes and community members.


Superintendent Dr. Tommy Lewis would like to formally announce the winner of the 2020 Coconino County Teacher of the Year is Kristin Patterson, Flagstaff Junior Academy. The 2020 Teacher of the Year Ambassadors for Excellence winners are Lynn PattonMount Elden Middle School and Todd Van Hoesen, Haven Montessori. The 2020 Rookie Teacher of the Year winner is Ashley CurtinW.F. Killip Elementary. The 2020 Rookie Teacher of the Year Ambassadors for Excellence are Tessa Alexander, Williams High School and Langley Vannoy, Sinagua Middle School. The winners were honored at an outdoor event held in front of Ponderosa High School on October 2. All health and safety requirements were met and the crowd enjoyed the evening breeze.


For more information contact the School Superintendents Office at 928- 679-8070.


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home

Coconino Emergency Notifications

Siren System Test in Oak Creek Canyon

Posted on: October 20, 2020