Boards and Commissions


Supervisor Horstman is a member of the National Association of Counties. In this capacity, she also serves on the Public Lands Steering Committee which is responsible for all matters relating to federally-owned public lands including federal land management programs, natural resource revenue sharing payments, payments in lieu of taxes (PILT), and Secure Rural Schools (SRS). The principal concern of the PLSC is to advocate for the full funding of PILT and SRS.

PILT are Federal payments to local governments that help offset losses in property taxes due to the existence of nontaxable Federal lands within their boundaries. Coconino County is home to 4.7M Acres of nontaxable federal lands that qualify for these payments.

The SRS program provides assistance to rural counties and school districts affected by the decline in revenue from timber harvests on federal lands. SRS was enacted in 2000 to stabilize payments to counties and to compensate for lost revenues. 27.31% of land in Coconino County is National Forest Land and equals roughly $2.6M in SRS payments.

PILT and SRS payments are one of the ways the Federal Government can fulfill its role of being a good neighbor to local communities. To learn more about the National Association of Counties visit the website. 


Supervisor Horstman was elected by her fellow Arizona County Supervisors to serve on the Western Interstate Region (WIR) alongside Greenlee County Supervisor, Richard Lunt.

The Western Interstate Region is affiliated with the National Association of Counties (NACo) and is dedicated to the promotion of Western interests within NACo. These interests include use and conservation of public lands, community stability and economic development, and the promotion of the traditional western way of life. Its membership consists of fifteen Western states: Alaska, Hawaii, Washington, Oregon, California, Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, North Dakota, and South Dakota. 


The Four Forest Restoration Initiative was created to accelerate an ambitious restoration program to improve and sustain watershed health, improve wildlife habitat, conserve biodiversity, protect old-growth, reduce the risk of uncharacteristic wildland fire and promote the reintroduction of natural fire, and restore natural forest structure and function so that forests are more resilient to climate change. The initiative spans 2.4-million-acres on the Apache-Sitgreaves, Coconino, Kaibab and Tonto national forests. 


The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council is a county wide collaboration between county, municipal and state criminal justice agencies and departments, treatment providers, administrative departments and concerned citizens to address issues and needs arising within the criminal justice system in Coconino County. The purpose of the Council is to collaborate and communicate the juvenile and criminal justice systems in Coconino County, identify areas for improvement, and formulate policy, plans and programs for change.

The CJCC recently has commissioned an independent review from the Justice Management Institute to increase collaboration and communication in an effort to improve our county's justice system. Overall, the findings from the assessment suggests that Coconino County CJCC has many positive attributes to build upon and that the shortcomings can be easily addressed. This is especially true given that the county and our partners are eager and willing to collaborate.

The mission of MetroPlan is to leverage cooperation to maximize financial and political resources for a premier transportation system. The organization is comprised of the City of Flagstaff, Coconino County, Northern Arizona University, the Northern Arizona Intergovernmental Public Transportation Authority, and the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT).