Arizona Birth Certificate Services
Birth Certificate services are available by mail and in-person with appointments. To schedule an appointment, call 928-679-7272. To mail in your request, please see below.
Walk-in hours are also available.
- Tuesdays, 1- 3:30 pm
- Thursdays, 8:30 - 11 am
We apologize, but due to the nature of walk-ins, we cannot guarantee you will be seen.
|Links to Applications||Additional Information Links|
|Certified Birth Certificate||Additional Information|
|Changing/Correcting Information on a Birth Certificate||Additional Information|
|Adding a Father's Name to a Birth Certificate||Additional Information|
Who Can Get Birth Certificates?
By law, only certain people can get birth certificates. To see if you are eligible, visit Who Can Obtain a Birth Certificate.
If the birth has not been registered with the state of Arizona, click here for information on how to register the birth.
Asking for an Official Arizona Birth Certificate by Mail
Coconino County Health and Human Services (CCHHS) can only provide birth certificates for births that occurred in Arizona. To get a birth certificate from another state, you must contact that state’s vital records office.
Step 1: Fill out the English form for the type of birth certificate you need - choices below. (The Spanish copies of the forms are to assist Spanish-speakers, but state regulations require that Arizona birth certificates only be processed using the English forms.) Follow the instructions and checklist on the form. If you have questions, please call the Birth Certificate staff before sending in documentation at (928) 679-7281 or toll-free at (877) 679-7272. Your choices are:
Step 2: A copy of the required ID, and any additional information required based upon your relationship with the birth certificate person.
Step 3: Include a stamped envelope addressed to yourself so that the certificates can be mailed to you at the correct address. Add stamps if you are requesting more than one.
Step 4: Include payment.
|"As Is" copy of birth certificate||$20 per copy|
|Changing/correcting information on the birth certificate |
Adding a father's name to a birth certificate
|$30 for the first copy, $20 for each additional copy|
- Visa, MasterCard, debit card, cashier’s check, or money orders. No cash.
- Cashier’s checks, personal checks and money orders must be the exact amount and made payable to CCHHS (Coconino County Health and Human Services)
- Credit/debit card payments must include the type of card, full card number, expiration date and 3-digit security code on the application.
Processing time can be up to 10 business days from the date the complete application and documentation is received.
Mail completed applications and required documents to:
Coconino County Health and Human Services
2625 N. King Street
Flagstaff, AZ 86004