Click to Home
HomeContact Us
Email PagePrint Page
Go To Search
Birth Certificates
Get an Arizona Birth Certificate
The Coconino County Public Health Services District (CCPHSD) offers certified copies of Arizona birth certificates at the CCPHSD King Street office in Flagstaff. Birth certificates can be requested in person Monday through Friday from 9 AM to 11 AM and from 12 PM to 4 PM at the:
Health and Community Services Building
2625 N. King St.
Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Additional locations listed below.

Information in Spanish
Información importante acerca de cómo obtener un certificado de nacimiento.

Who Can Obtain Birth Records
CCPHSD offers birth records only for births that occurred in Arizona.

  • Births prior to 1950 - CCPHSD CANNOT issue certificates for births that occurred prior to 1950.  The applicant must mail a completed application and payment to the State Office of Vital Records.  Applications are available at the Coconino County Public Health Services District office or online at http://www.azdhs.gov/vitalrcd/forms.htm
  • Births from 1950 through 1989 - CCPHSD can only issue an “As Is” birth certificate.  The "As Is" birth certificate is computer generated and is limited to basic information such as the name of the registrant, date of birth, county of birth, registrant's gender, and parents' names.  The "As Is" birth certificate costs $19 with NO REFUND and is issued the same day. 
  • Births from 1990 to present - CCPHSD can issue these birth certificates the same day.  They are $19 each.
  • Corrections and Amendments - CCPHSD can only correct or amend records for births that occurred from 1997 to present. The cost is $27 and includes a birth certificate.  For births that occurred prior to 1997, correction paperwork must be sent to the State Office of Vital Records. The cost is $30 and includes a birth certificate. 

From Another State
To obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate from another state, you must contact that state's vital records office.

Applications & Payment
Payment in the form of cash, cashiers check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, and personal check will be accepted. Applications are available at the Coconino County Public Health Services District online or below:

Birth Certificate Application
Disclaimer

Locations

Arizona Birth Certificates are available at the following CCPHSD locations:
City Address Days Available Hours Available
Flagstaff Health and Community Services Building
2625 N. King St.
Monday – Friday 9 AM - 11 AM
12 PM - 4 PM
Leupp Leupp Chapter House First Thursday of each month 10 AM - 2 PM
Page CCPHSD Northern Region Office
467 Vista Ave.
Second Wednesday of each month 10 AM - 2 PM
Tuba City Supervisor Lena Fowler’s Office
46 Maple St.
First and third Wednesday of
each month
10 AM - 3 PM

Vital Records
Arizona is a "closed record" state, meaning that vital records are not public records. Arizona law restricts the public's access to vital records as follows to protect the confidentiality rights of citizens. Only persons 18 years of age or older may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate. In addition to a valid government issued identification, the following information is necessary in order to obtain a birth certificate.
  • Provide the date and place of birth, which should also include the city, county, and name of hospital where the birth occurred.
  • Provide the mother's maiden last name, and if the mother is married or if the couple is not married but filed a paternity affidavit at the hospital, then include father's information.
  • Provide your relationship to the person on the certificate. (with few exceptions, only immediate family can obtain birth certificates. Please call (928) 679-7272 for more information. The request must be signed by the applicant and you must provide us with a copy of a currently valid, signed government issued picture I.D., such as a U.S. or foreign issued passport, driver's license, or state I.D.)
  • Proof of relationship is required.  (e.g. birth certificate, death certificate, trusts, wills, marriage certificates – only originals will be accepted)
  • If you were born from 1950 to 1989 and intend to use your birth certificate to obtain a passport or for military purposes you must apply at the Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Vital Records.
  • Home births require specific paperwork. Please call (928) 679-7272 for information.

Birth Certificate Disclosure Statement

For More Information
For more information, call the Coconino County Public Health Services District (928) 679-7272 or toll-free at 1 (877) 679-7272.

Connect With Us Online
RSSFacebookTwitterYouTube